Astrology: The Signs of the Zodiac

What roles do the signs of the zodiac play in astrology?

Rate this:

The Planets on the horoscope show us WHAT is happening. The houses show us WHERE it happens and the zodiac signs shows us HOW it happens.

The Elements

All signs have elements and qualities. The elements make up for the “temperament” of the sign, whereas the qualities refer to the elementary states.

  • Fire indicate passionate, spontaneous and intense personality traits. The four fire signs are: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius.
  • Earth indicate slow, stable, deeply rooted and enduring personality traits. The four earth signs are: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn.
  • Air indicate animated, quick, intellectual and diverse personality traits. The four air signs are: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius.
  • Water indicate sensitive, emotive, imaginative and intuitive personality trait. The four water signs are: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces.

The Qualities

  • Cardinal signs are natural leaders and good on following through the projects they initiate. The signs are: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn.
  • Fixed signs are against dramatic changes and are happy to settle for what they already have. The signs are: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius.
  • Mutable signs are flexible, to say the least. They are always on the hunt for something new and enjoy changes. The signs are: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces.

The Signs

Here are a few positive and negative traits of the signs.

  • Aries: Cardinal + Fire. Independent, dynamic – Arrogant, hasty.
  • Taurus: Fixed + Earth. Stable, sensual – Bossy, stubborn.
  • Gemini: Mutable + Air. Adaptable, diplomatic – Gossipy, meddling.
  • Cancer: Cardinal + Water. Sympathetic, sensitive – Bossy, touchy.
  • Leo: Fixed + Fire. Generous, confident – Pompous, pretentious.
  • Virgo: Mutable + Earth. Sharp, humanitarian – Picky, criticising.
  • Libra: Cardinal + Air. Refined, diplomatic – Apathetic, indecisive.
  • Scorpio: Fixed + Water. Deep, passionate – Jealous, petty
  • Sagittarius: Mutable + Fire. Enthusiastic, honest – Distant, blunt.
  • Capricorn: Cardinal + Earth. Responsible, proud – Dry, cheap.
  • Aquarius: Fixed + Air. Altruistic, fair – Fickle, vague.
  • Pisces: Mutable + Water. Sociable, intuitive – Lazy, dreamy.

Well met,
Raven’s Eye


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s